How to Change How Long Screen Recordings Are Kept / Auto-Delete Recordings
On On-Premises and Private Cloud deployments (see Important Considerations below), you can manage your storage requirements and comply with data retention policies by configuring the system to automatically delete older recordings.
Changing Retention for a Group
You can set a retention period for all employees, computers and departments assigned to a specific monitoring profile:
1. Navigate to Configurations > Monitoring Profiles.
2. Click the profile's name (for example, Compliance Team).
3. Click the Edit icon in the Actions column next to Screen Recording. If you can't see the Actions column, scroll the table to the right.
4. Scroll down to the Retention period section and enter the number of days to keep recordings in the Delete history after field (for example, 30).
5. Click Apply changes. The new value appears in the Settings column of the channel.
6. Click the Save button at the top-right to save the profile.
Changing Retention for a Single Employee
If you need to set a unique retention period for a specific employee, you can do so from the employee's profile:
1. Navigate to Employees.
2. Click the employee's name (for example, Aymon Cousteau).
3. Click the Edit button at the top-right of the employee's profile.
4. Select the Monitoring options tab in the Edit Profile panel.
5. In the Basic sub-tab, click the Gear icon next to Screen Recording.
6. Scroll down to the Retention period section and enter the number of days in the Delete history after field (for example, 30).
7. Click the Apply Changes button to save the changes.
Note: Changing the monitoring settings from an employee's profile assigns the employee a Custom profile, which overrides any other monitoring profiles the employee is part of.
Changing Retention for a Computer
You can also override the profile settings for a specific computer to automatically delete its recordings after a certain period:
1. Navigate to Computers.
2. Click the Three Dots icon in front of the computer (for example, emu-onsite-0) and select Edit Computer Info.
3. In the Delete recordings older than field, enter the number of days (for example, 30). A value of 0 means the computer uses the retention period from the employee's monitoring profile.
4. Click Save.
Other Data Retention Options
Besides screen recordings, you can automatically delete other stored data from the same monitoring profile. Click the Edit icon in the Actions column next to the channel, set the option, click Apply changes, then click Save:
Email Attachments: In the Emails channel, enter the number of days in the Delete stored attachments after field. The default is 0, which keeps attachments indefinitely.
Printed Documents: In the Printing channel, enter the number of days in the Delete history after field under Retention period. Like the screen recording setting, it's only available on on-premise deployments.
Important Considerations
AWS Deployments: Currently, Teramind on AWS does not support the automatic removal of screen recordings directly from AWS S3 buckets via the dashboard; you must use the Amazon S3 Lifecycle to manage that storage.
Manual Deletion: You can also manually delete time and screen records for specific time slots, for example from Time Tracking > Time Cards, Time Tracking > Time Records, or the Snapshots tab of the Employee Details screen. For more information, check out this article.



